Wisconsin Weather

DEC 13, 2017 | 10" in Sturgeon Bay Wisconsin

Event Type
Impact
3 - Moderate
Date
Tue Dec 12 - Thu Dec 14, 2017

Event Summary

Alberta clipper in dynamic upper level flow. Moisture starved initiatlly but increasing in coverage throughout the day. From the start it was clear the main snow band was key to snow accumulation with a sharp cutoff in snow accumulation to the south of that. Initial model runs had the snow band position along an axis from Stevens Point to Sheboygan. This band was dependent on 700mb forcing and the timing had to be right as the clipper moved quickly. The night prior to Wednesday 12/13, a northward shift occurred in the main snow band. This hung the lower end of weather advisories out to dry. However snow accumulations over-performed the 3-6" forecast in northeast Wisconsin due to conservative expectations that were more in line the average alberta clipper. This was stronger than the average clipper. This is where I learned to bump up snow predictions in northern Wisconsin just because.
Regions:
Last Update: 5:00 PM - Tue December 12, 2017

Information & Details

  • Posts
  • Photos
  • Maps & Radar
  • Forecast
  • Warnings
  • Reports
  • All

Similar Storm Events


Extreme Cold
Sun Dec 31, 2017

8.0" of Heavy Snow in La Crosse
Snow
Fri Nov 30, 2018
1-2" of Snow Wednesday AM
Snow
Tue Dec 11, 2018

10" Heavy Snow in Northern Wisconsin
Heavy Snow
Wed Dec 26, 2018

Gile, WI Foot of Snow
Thu Feb 23, 2017

Winter Storm Northwest Wisconsin
Wed Jan 10, 2018

Wisconsin Snow Storm - 14" in Prescott
Sun Jan 21, 2018

Wisconsin Snow - 8" in Milwaukee
Fri Feb 2, 2018
3-6" Lake Effect Snow in Upper Michigan
Lake Effect Snow
Wed Dec 5, 2018
Light Snow Chance on Christmas
Light Snow
Mon Dec 24, 2018
Snow Expected for New Years Eve
Winter Storm
Sun Dec 30, 2018
© 2019 Wisconsin Weather Group | All Rights Reserved
v8.04